© 2016 by Amber Lee Dodd.  Artwork by Kate Forrester

Awards
We Are Giants

Winner of the 2017 Calderdale Book of the Year Award 

 Shortlisted for the 2017 Branford Boase Award

 Long listed for the 2017  Waterstones Children's Book Prize

 Nominated for the 2017 Ibby Award (Outstanding Books for Young People with Disabilities)

 Currently shortlisted for the 2017 Fantastic Book Awards

 Shortlisted for the 2017 Hounslow Junior Book Award

 Shortlisted for the 2017 Waverton Good Reads Children's award

 Long listed for the 2017 Redbridge Book Award

 Shortlisted for the 2016 North Somerset Teachers Book Award

 Shortlisted for the 2017 Chichester High School Book Award

Reviews
Lightning Chase Me Home

"Told with warmth and originality, this tale of families, growing up and finding courage marks Dodd out as a real talent to watch" - Fiona Noble - The Bookseller

"Amber Lee Dodd has conjured up an emotional and thrilling tale, which is a delight to read, fast paced and hard to put down. Good for the adventurous girls and boys in your family." - M.G. Leonard (author of the Beetle Boy trilogy)

"Lightning Chase Me Home has left us inspired by bravery, mystified by magic and thankful for the ordinary things we take for granted." - TES Class Book Review

"An unusual adventure story that successfully holds the reader under its spell... A highly satisfying read, combining a convincing contemporary context with timeless mystery and magic" - Booktrust book of the month

"In Lightning Chase Me Home, Amber Lee Dodd couples inner strength and sensitivity, with central character Amelia the shining heart of it all, in a stirring story that will take the children’s book world by storm." -  The Reader Teacher

We Are Giants

"A huge-hearted book of enormous charm" - Branford Boase Award

"This moving drama brings a fresh perspective to the diversity of family life. It is a positive and uplifting story, with fun characters and an emotional depth" - Booktrust 

 

"For readers of Lara Williamson and R J Palacio, this début promises to be an original and warm-hearted take on grief, growing up and living with a disability." (Fiona Noble The Bookseller)

 

"You can really relate to what they feel and think ... it's wonderfully written." (Kat Winter – The Guardian Children's reviews for children)

 

"The story has giant heart – although of course, size doesn’t matter." Minervareads

 

"It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds...refreshing and heartwarming - well worth a read!" (Waterstone's Books Quarterly)

"This book will have you well and truly hooked from the opening chapter and if you're anything like as big a softy as me, you will be sobbing into your hankie for most of it. It's a truly wonderful and touching book that doesn't shy away from some important and sensitive issues. We loved it to bits!" (ReaditDaddy)

 

"...a touching and sensitive book, told with great insight and understanding; it is always realistic, does not gloss over the problems but gives a positive and encouraging spin." (Parents In Touch)

 

"It was refreshing to see such a diverse family ... I found myself wrapped up in the story and read it in one sitting. It is a book that will keep you turning the pages wanting more ... A truly thoughtful and moving read." (BookLoverJo)


"An engaging story that will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson..... The story weaves in a very informative explanation of the challenges of dwarfism through the prejudice and practical challenges Sydney's mum has to face in her daily life... The matter of fact way that Sydney describes her mum's experiences is particularly clever as readers are likely to accept this as part of the story and only sublimely realise the issues being raised in the book" (Sue Magee The Bookbag)